.

December in Reviews

Crab in phyllo with spinach at Sola. Photo by Jonathan D
Crab in phyllo with spinach at Sola. Photo by Jonathan D

We appreciate your business and are grateful for all reviews  - the good, bad and the ugly… In this monthly post we will give you a look back on some of the reviews that came in  ~  as well as the reviewers photos.  As mentioned we will not only show the best reviews also some of the reviews that are not so flattering.

While Brian make an effort to speak to every patron during their visit to Sola, to ensure that they are enjoying their experience, an unhappy patron may slip by. It is very important to us let us know if there is an issue during your time with us, weather it is the loud patrons at the table next to you or your meal is not prepared to your satisfaction.

If for any reason you have an issue while dining with us ~ do not hesitate to grab a hold of Brian and let him know

December in Reviews

Although the kitchen was backed up and the food was a little slow, everyone there was aware of it and did a fantastic job of keeping us up to date on what was going on. The staff could not have been nicer. And the food was delicious. Definitely would go again. ~KathyPat ~Dined on 12/07/2013

We and our friends celebrated our wedding anniversaries together at Sola on Saturday night. The food is exquisite - absolutely amazing for a restaurant in Bryn Mawr, PA that is not in center city and not in Europe. This was our fourth visit and each time is better than the last. The chef has real talent and the friendly owner now greets us by name. Thank you for another memorable meal. The price is not cheap but it is worth every penny and we are happy that we can bring our own carefully selected wine and enjoy it in a lovely wine glass making the corkage fee palatable. ~ Kitkat~ Dined on 12/13/2013

This was my first time at SOLA, which is a BYOB with contemporary American cuisine but with a French flair in many of the flavor combinations and profiles. The decor and welcome were surprisingly kind and warming at once, and the set-up of the dining room manages to be spacious enough to feel personal without feeling separated. It's small and lovely. The service was outstanding, all questions answered and recommendations offered with vigor and honesty. Such a wonderful feeling to be catered to without being hovered over! But the food - the food could hold this restaurant without anything else going for it. Amazing menu, great and interesting options and combinations of flavors. That kitchen is magical! I can't wait to come back. ~ mousseley ~ Dined on 12/18/2013

Brian and Stephen are improving with each experience. creative menu;Foie gras ,rack of lamb,and butterfish were excellent. ~ VIP ~ Dined on 12/20/2013  

Lovely Main Line BYOB. Food and service are excellent Have been there twice with friends and was pleased both times. Would definitely return. ~ bert ~ Dined on 12/21/2013

Sola is one of the best restaurants in the Philadelphia area . ~ Joan ~ Dined on 12/22/2013

Let me start by saying the food was excellent. The "sides" were small. My fish came with Brussels sprouts and it was basically 2 Brussels cut in half.....The price s were a bit on the high side, especially when they charge a "corking fee" at a BYOB? I am a foodie and have never seen that before. That took the experience form the get go down.... Need to lower the lights and maybe add some candles for better ambiance. If they decide to be more generous with the "side" and remove the corkage fee, we might return, because the chef is wonderful! ~ Paulette ~ Dined on 12/28/2013

This is a top spot. There's always a little service/food issue that can't seem to be corrected but one is always left with the feeling of a great time and good food. Duck is really excellent and appetizers imaginative. Could have eaten almost anything. Nice time. ~ VIP ~ Dined on 12/28/2013

Came here last night with my parents for their 50th anniversary, though we didn't actually tell the restaurant it was an occasion until pretty much the end of the meal.  It didn't matter.  It was a top-notch experience from start to finish.  We all began with one of the day's specials, crab in paper thin phyllo, which was almost like an ethereal spring roll.  The crab truly was at the forefront, not buried in filler or overpowered by other flavors, though a delicious cooked spinach and a tasty aioli sauce accompanied it.  While my parents had the Hawaiian butterfish for their main (and it was lovely), I had the dorade.  It was excellently cooked, with a crispy skin, paired with a lovely (but not overwhelming) orange sauce and a medley of gorgeously arrayed string beans and both yellow and purple cauliflower.  My only minor quibble--the fish was topped by both caviar (which was a great, slightly salty counterpoint to the orange sauce on the side) and some sort of foam.  I'm not really sure what the latter added, and it potentially could have made the crispy skin a little less crisp, though I don't really think it had much effect.  Also, a special shout out to the bread, a soft roll that had fresh herbs baked into it.  Dipping it into the olive oil they provide was perfect.  That left dessert.  I had a special peanut butter mousse-cake (that's how I'd describe the texture), which was accompanied by a bit of praline, a house-made chocolate ice cream and a torch-caramelized banana.  Throw in some edible flowers and you have an absolutely beautiful dish.  Service was attentive and friendly, and the room is comfortable and relaxed.  The restaurant isn't cheap, but to be honest, the price-point is quite reasonable for the quality (we ate at The Fountain at the Four Seasons the night before, and this probably cost a third of that).  We all left thinking this would be a good restaurant to frequent more, uh...frequently. Jonathan D ~12/30/2013


http://solabyob.com/blog/2014/01/december-reviews/

 

 

This post is contributed by a community member. The views expressed in this blog are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect those of Patch Media Corporation. Everyone is welcome to submit a post to Patch. If you'd like to post a blog, go here to get started.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something